Council on Communications

 The Council on Communications collaborates with the Office of Communications and Public Affairs and other APA departments to guide and enhance the APA’s many activities in the dynamic field of communications.

The council is charged with transforming public attitudes towards psychiatry by:

  • Connecting the public emotionally to psychiatrists, ·        
  • Creating excitement about psychiatrists' ability to prevent and treat mental illness, and ·        
  • Branding psychiatrists as the mental health and physician specialists with the most knowledge, training, and experience in the field.

Current Members (May 2013-2014) of the Council on Communications include:

Jeffrey A Borenstein, MD, Chair
Serina Deen, MD MPH
J Raymond DePaulo, MD
Florence F Eddins-Folensbee, MD
Richard Alan Friedman, MD
Sarah Johnson, MD, MSC
Peter David Kramer, MD
John Luo, MD
Maheen Patel, MD
Gail Saltz, MD
Lloyd I Sederer, MD
David Spiegel, MD
Hasani Baharanyi, MD
Alma Guerra, MD PhD
Ayana Jordan, MD PhD
Ahmed Khan, MD
Dimas Javier Tirado-Morales, MD
Miko Rose, DO
Lesha D Shah, MD
Arshya Barati Namin Vahabzadeh, MD
APA STAFF: Eve Herold & Lisa Fields

Award overseen by the Council on Communications

Newsletter of the Year Award ‑ Established: 1968 & amended in December 2011

Member Communications Award - Established in 2011

The Member Communications Award acknowledges the use of new technology to communicate, engage and educate members and the public on matters of importance to psychiatry.  The award recognizes four award categories: Innovative & Emerging Technology; e-Newsletters; Websites; and the Overall Communications Plan. All four categories must communicate effectively with APA members and external audiences on matters of importance to psychiatry, the District Branch/State Association or APA constituent groups. Each member group has an opportunity to select from one of the four categories and submit the entry form accordingly. An award can be won in successive years.

Judging criteria include: how the entry addresses the goals of the publication or social media format; the quality of writing and headlines; readability; originality; general layout and design; timeliness/frequency, and overall impression.
Honorarium:  Certificates offered at the May meeting of the Assembly. 
Submissions:  District Branches and APA constituent groups are notified directly of each year's competition and are sent the award categories, judging criteria and the entry form. 
Deadline for entries: July 29, 2014 
Component: Council on Communications.